top of page

Friday Email 9/5

We spent the first week getting to know each other, learning rules and procedures, learning resources, and obtaining materials. I passed out the Journeys Practice Book, SS Practice Book, and Traits Writing Handbook. I also gave students' class codes for the internet resources we will be using this year.

Don't worry- I have all of that information on hand for any student who needs it!

*I let students know the updated material list for SS and LA. As well as what was listed for LA, they need a red notebook and red folder for SS, and a blue notebook for LA. The color coding is a way to keep students organized between subjects. If there are any discrepancies regarding materials, let me know. I understand the confusion, as I had a misunderstanding.

This coming week we will be diving into the curriculum!

Tuesday we will start Lesson 1 in 'Journeys'. Homework will be assigned out of their Practice Book starting Tuesday night. Spelling Test and Reading Test will be Friday.

We are going to start Traits Writing as well. The beginning of the book starts off with the Writing Process. There will be a Writing Pre-Assessment on Thursday this week. This is simply to help show me where each student stands.

We will also begin in our Social Studies curriculum about US History. We start off by reviewing Geography and previewing Unit 1.

*PLEASE try and help keep them organized and responsible for their Practice Book/Handbooks. I informed them we use them A LOT in LA and SS. All textbooks will remain in the classroom, unless you would like a hard copy at home. Let me know and I would be happy to send one.

If you have not signed up for Class Dojo yet, I encourage you to do so. All students received log in information for themselves as well as their parents. If you need any codes or assistance with this let me know and I can help. Dojo points will begin Tuesday.

Don't forget- Wednesday is Back to School Night for 5th grade. I look forward to meeting you!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page